Çerez Örnek

Aquaculture Department

Head of Department : Prof.Dr. Halil ŞEN

Vice Head of Department:  Assoc.Prof.Dr. M. Tolga TOLON 



Aquaculture Department is one of the three departments of Ege University Fisheries Faculty and also consists of two divisions as Aquaculture and Fish Disease Section. In the department of Aquaculture, there are 13 Professors, 9 Associate Professors, 2 Assistant Professors., 2 Dr. Lecturers, 8 Research Assistants, 1 Engineer and 2 Technicians. Educational and consultancy activities are focused on marine and fresh water fish culture, Larval rearing, crustacean and arthropod culture, plankton culture, macroalgae culture, fish feeding and feed technology, aquaculture economy, ornamental fish culture, fish disease and treatments. Besides, there are a total of 16 laboratories, 9 in the Bornova campus (Bioanalysis Laboratory of Fish Culture, Industrial Candidate Species Culture Laboratory, Molluscs and Arthropods Culture Laboratory, Algal Biotechnology Laboratory, Egemar Aquarium and Biotechnology Laboratory, Fish Diseases Laboratory, Fish Nutrition and Feed Technology Laboratory, Breeding and Genetics Laboratory) and 7 in the Urla campus (Aquaculture and Fish Nutrition Laboratory, Fish Diseases Laboratory, Virology and Tissue Culture Laboratory, Invertebrates Culture Laboratory, Algal Biotechnology Laboratory, Plankton Culture Laboratory, Aquatic Plants Laboratory), which have necessary equipments for education/training and research. In addition to these, culture studies of marine and inland aquatic organisms are carried out in Dr. H. Okan KAMACI Research and Application Unit in the Urla campus.

Ege Üniversitesi